Showing posts with label Education. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Education. Show all posts

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Just bought an Arduino, What's next?


This article briefly explain what is to be done just after purchasing an Arduino board. Even though the prerequisites of Arduino is less compared to other development boards, I think this article will be useful because Arduino is being popular among beginners. This article deals with the latest version of Arduino at the time of writing - it is Arduino UNO.
Setting up drivers
Connect Arduino to your computer via USB cable. It will power up from USB power. Now start Arduino IDE. If you have not Arduino IDE download from here. No need to install the software. Just extract using your favourite decompressing utility (my favourite is 7zip) and run the executable named 'Arduino'. Now you have to set up your IDE to work with your Arduino UNO. First select your hardware from Tools -> Board -> Arduino UNO (or your exact hardware name. If it is not listed, try to download the latest version). Next, select your serial port from Tools -> Serial Port. Selecting serial port is in different way different OS.
Linux
If the 'Serial Port' menu is not active, probably, your device is not connected properly. Try to reconnect. If more than one serial ports are shown in the menu, we need to find out which is the correct one. To do that, disconnect your arduino first. Then you probably need to restart the IDE. Then look at the 'Serial Port' menu and note down the listed COM ports. Then reconnect your device and track the newcomer. This is the easy way. Select it.
One of the problem I suffered while playing with arduino in my Ubuntu 10.04 LTS was that, the compilation of the program was a failure. It was a dependancy problem. So what I did is that, installed Arduino IDE as described here. But it was an older version and my device UNO is not listed in it. Then downloaded the newer version from the downloads page. That was really a tricky step!
MS Windows
In Windows, just after connecting your device to the PC, a device driver wizard appears and try to find the appropriate device driver for the device. It will take a while and at the end of the fight, it fails to find an appropriate driver. Close the wizard and go to 'Device Manger' (Either via Control Panel or by right clicking 'My Computer' then 'Manage'). Then you can find Aduino UNO as the unknown device. Right click on that and choose the option to manually install the driver. Then locate the directory where you have installed Arduino IDE. Then the system install the appropriate driver and now you can see your device on the list named 'Ports' in the Device Manger. In parenthesis, there will be the curresponding COM port number (eg: COM 4) . Then choose that COM port in the Arduino IDE.
Starting with 'Hello World'
The commonly accepted 'Hello World' in embedded devices is LED blinking. There is an example in the IDE itself. Open the file from File -> Examples -> Basics -> Blink
Look at the program. For an average C programmer, the program seems self-explanatory. To compile your program, choose Sketch -> verify/compile. Then to upload the executable to your device, choose,File -> upload to I/O board. If everything you have done is correct, you will get your Arduino programmed and starts working just after burning the program using the USB power. Disconnect it from USB and use in your standalone applications.
Read more..
Arduino Lanugage reference
Arduino Playground

Thursday, September 9, 2010

Indian languages support and software tools

Indian Govt. have an official website for Indian language support. You can download language support and software tools from this website or order for a free CD. The major tools are:
  1. True type fonts with keyboard driver
  2. Multifont keyborad engine for the true type fonts
  3. Unicode complient fonts
  4. BHARATEEYA Open Source
  5. Language OCR
  6. Language spell checker
  7. Bilingual dictionary
  8. Font design tool
  9. Transliteration tool
  10. Language text editor
  11. Tutor package
  12. Text to speech system
  13. Database sorting tool
  14. Number to word tool
  15. Typing tutor
  16. Language suppoted microsoft excel
  17. Type assistant
The CD is released by Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, Government of India. Contibuters are, C-DAC, Cyber space multimedia Ltd.,C K Technologies, Cadgraf Digitals System Ltd., Cyber Thomson, IMRC.
Click here to visit Technology Development for Indian Languages(TDIL).

Sunday, July 4, 2010

mcu8051 IDE for Windows

mcu8051IDE can now be used in Microsoft Windows also. If you are not aware of mcu8051IDE, read my previous post: Introduction to mcu8051IDE

Download the following:
First install ActiveTcl and SDCC and then mcu8051IDE.
Then you have just completed mcu8051IDE installation in windows.
If you want to report bug, go here.

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Here comes Octave Online


Before going to read more check whether you know about Octave.

From the inspiration of my last post about the online Python, I searched internet for the online octave. Luckily, it was a success. All scripting languages or tools are feasible to convert to its online version, even though it doesn't exist for the most. Come back to Octave online. I don't know whether it can be called as octave online, but they calls it Math calculator which supports octave. I was successful in executing simple matrix calculations in the Octave online. Anyway, it is the time to dive into Octave online. You just need to click here.
The parent website http://www.online-utility.org/ offers other free online utilities. Search and explore more.

Saturday, December 26, 2009

PHET science simulations for students

PhET interactive simulations - Fun, interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena from the PhET project at the University of Colorado.

I found those simulations were good in today's eduction- thanks for university of Colorado. Most of them are intended for Upper and High school students and pre- graduate students. However, if you just spend your time in experimenting with it, I am sure you get something new. Phet interactive simulations create a virtual lab environment. It's just a feeling that to enter into a physics or chemistry lab in a college. You can do anything in your own lab. Nothing to fear. No more comments from teachers...
One more advantage is that, you only need a java powered web browser. You can browse through different lab environments. If you like PhET virtual lab, you can download it for offline usage. Linux(80MB), Windows(97MB) and Mac OS(85MB) installation supported.

Browse phet simulations
Download phet for offline usage.